Things I’m Worried About

Recently, I’ve been getting quite worried, anxious and/or stressed about a few things so I thought writing them down and sharing them with you may help me. I’ve divided the things that I’m worried about into sections for simplicity.

Going to South Africa in August

  1. I’ll be leaving everything I know behind. It’s really nerve-racking but exciting at the same time. I’ll be leaving my friends, family, culture and lifestyle for a brand new environment that I’ll need to adapt quickly to.
  2. Not reaching my fundraising target of £6,200. What happens if I don’t reach my goal? What if I decide I don’t want to go? I can’t back out!
  3. Leaving him behind. It’s going to be the hardest thing I’ve ever done, leaving my loved one behind, but we will get through it (discussed later on).

School

  1. Failing. We recently had mocks and they didn’t go as well as I’d hoped. I just froze up in one of my exams and my mind went blank so I couldn’t remember anything.
  2. Being a disappointment. I don’t want to let anyone down as I want to get into Sheffield Hallam university and I’ll be really disappointed if I don’t.
  3. Falling behind in my notes. I always write up my class notes in a separate revision book but recently I’ve had so much other stuff going on that I just haven’t had time. Exams are coming quickly and this needs to be done.

Relationships

  1. He may need someone. I won’t be able to see him for 10 months as I’ll be in South Africa and he’ll be stuck in England, so what happens if he gets bored of waiting for me or just needs someone to talk to? I won’t be there to help him and that’s a scary thought.
  2. It may not work. When I get back (July 2016) we’ll both be going to uni in the August but what happens if it doesn’t work out? I really don’t want to lose him.
  3. Time. With exams approaching and the fact that so much of my time is spent organising fundraising events, I’m worried I may not be spending as much time with him as I should.

Let me know if you’ve got any similar worries; I’d love to talk to you about them.

4 thoughts on “Things I’m Worried About

  1. Although it sounds like a big change for you it will also be a crazy exciting 10 months! In a way, this may be a great way of testing the strength of your relationship with this distance so try to treat it like that instead of worrying about the ifs and buts. With school work I’d try and use your enthusiasm to get into Sheffield Hallam to drive your work now – you gotta put in what you get out 😄. Hope this helps, it sounds like an amazing opportunity 👍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

