Monday 29th February 2016

So it’s Monday 29th February 2016, a day that only happens every four years. I thought I would explain my current situation(s) so that in four years time I’ll be able to look back on this post to see how things have changed or stayed the same.

I’m currently in my last year of school and I’m studying Sociology (which I love), ICT and English Language. We’ve just had mocks at school and I have my English mock tomorrow (writing this post probably isn’t the best idea but I need a revision break). I’ve really enjoyed sixth form but I can’t wait to leave my home town to escape England and see the rest of the world. It’s 16 weeks till my first A Level exam (on the 15th June) and I’m already getting stressed about revision.

I’m volunteering once a week at my ex primary school with Year 6 and I have been for the past year. It’s been an experience that I’ve thoroughly enjoyed and I hope that in the future I am able to fulfil my dream of becoming a primary school teacher. I received 5/5 interview offers but only went to 3 of them as I had my firm and insurance choice confirmed before I attended the last two. I am aiming to go to Sheffield Hallam university to study Primary Education after my year abroad in South Africa.

I am going to teach in a primary school in South Africa with an organisation called Project Trust. In October 2015, I had to go to the Scottish island of Coll for four days where I attended their selection programme to ensure that I was the right person to be going away with them. I received a letter two weeks later that confirmed that I was going to South Africa and under-taking a teaching programme. I’m currently in the process of fundraising £6,200 for this amazing once in a lifetime opportunity and I have about half of what I need. The experience will be amazing and life changing but I’m worried about leaving everyone and everything that I know behind. I will be receiving a confirmation letter in May that will outline my accommodation, location and the exact project that I will be doing but till then it’s still a mystery.

I’m in a relationship with the most amazing person and I hope it continues to be this way. We’ll both be starting university at the same time so I hope we can continue together. I’m planning on going to Sheffield but as he is re-siting the year so the stress of UCAS is not yet apparent to him and he doesn’t know what he wants to study or where he wants to go, just so long as it’s English related.

Leave a Reply

