2 Days Before I Fly To South Africa

It’s a weird feeling knowing that you’re leaving the country in less than 48 hours and in reality I have one full day left in England. I’ll be flying to South Africa at 7pm on the 15th September and I’ll be arriving in Johannesburg the following morning. 

Sitting and waiting might be the worst part of it all. I’m pretty much packed and ready to go, I’ve spoken to previous volunteers from Bethany Home and I’ve done my South African research. We were supposed to leave 2 weeks ago and so these past few weeks have just dragged by. I’ve been waiting with such anticipation and excitement to get out there that it’s gone so slowly but now I’m leaving in 2 days I wish I had more time. However, I know that I am mentally and physically ready to go. I had a leaving party which I surprisingly didn’t cry during and now I’ll just be saying goodbye to my family and closest friends. 

I feel a little bit left out that all of my friends are going to university and I’m not (this year anyway). But I know that next year I will have this incredible year to look back at, in which I will learn so many things that uni couldn’t teach me and when I start my Primary Education course I will have a year of teaching to put me ahead of the game. 

I know that this year is going to be tough but I think it will be harder than I think it will be. I know I’m going to miss my boyfriend, best friends and family so much as the only way to speak to them will be through Skype or messaging and with very little internet access it will be hard. As much as I don’t want them to forget about me, I really hope they continue on with their own lives. It’s strange to think that your best friend can live at the end of your road and you see her everyday for the past 3 years and then all of a sudden you won’t be able to see them for a whole year. I’m really going to miss them so much. 

One thought on “2 Days Before I Fly To South Africa

  1. Hi Izzy. Sounds like you are very determined and your coping strategies will kick in even though you will be missing your friends and family. As you say, it will be a brilliant experience!
    Looking forward to hearing about your progress! Best wishes and best of luck!
    Adrienne xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

