Going to a South African ‘Christmas Do’ and Teaching for the First Time (Week 4)

First of all I can’t believe I’ve been here for a month already. My time has just flown by and I’m sure the rest of the year will too. It feels like I only arrived yesterday but I’ve done so much in the last four weeks. In this post I’ll be telling you about going to a ‘Christmas do’ in October and how I found my first time teaching. 

It seems weird to me that the staff at Bethany Home would have their get-together in October as it’s still 3 months away from Christmas but during November and December the orphanage gets busy with visitors from relatives of the children so I there isn’t enough time to take a break nearer Christmas. 

We were invited to their Christmas do that took place at a nature reserve next to a dam. The whole day was filled with games, food, music and dancing although there was a lot of sitting around in the cold. 

The thing that struck me the most was how much South Africa’s eat. We had 6 meals over the due course of the day and 80% of it was meat. Woo hoo! (I’m a vegetarian) I mostly survived on bread, apples and an egg sandwich that the Danish volunteers had cleverly thought of to bring just in case they didn’t like the food. 

Between meals we did some skipping (very different to how we skip at home), played a game with string were you have to jump in and out of it but only having one foot in at a time, and a stone game where you have a group of rocks inside a circle and you throw one stone in the air whilst moving a minimum of two rocks out of the circle. You then have to put all but one stone back inside the circle without pushing them outside otherwise you’re out. 

It started to get cold and that’s when we knew it was time to go home. We got picked up by a taxi with all of the other staff members and we were driven back to Bethany Home to get some rest after a long day. 

I was asked by one of the mamas if I wanted to teach and of course I said yes as I’ll be starting my Primary Education course in September 2017 and so she then said you can teach the pre-school now. I didn’t think she meant right then and I didn’t have any idea of what level the kids knew or what level they were at so I watched her teach and I started get some ideas of what I could do to make my lessons creative. 

The next day I was asked to teach them anything and so I decided to teach them the alphabet. They already knew most of it but the kids are aged 4-6 which is when they’ve just started writing so I needed to ensure that they practiced their handwriting. Once they knew that A stood for Apple, B stood for Bird etc I then wrote on the chalk board each word with a letter missing. The kids then had to write the word with the missing letter using the information they had just learnt. Some of them struggled to understand this concept and just copied things like App_e but with the mama’s help most of the kids were able to complete the answers correctly. 

I must say that from just from my first day of teaching I can see how hard and how much work it takes to be a successful teacher. I really enjoyed teaching the children and I can’t wait to get back to the classroom on Monday morning. I have a lot of lesson plans to do and fun activities to think of before then. 

I hope you had a great weekend and I will update you of my next adventure as soon as possible. Thank you for reading and feel free to comment if you have any questions. 

One thought on “Going to a South African ‘Christmas Do’ and Teaching for the First Time (Week 4)

  1. Wow! Sounds as though you are having great experiences. Hard to imagine he differently people live in different places. You are getting a first hand experience!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

